Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

A LIFE CUT SHORT

A life lived
A life of giving
Of bringing joy
Of blessing

Enjoyed by others
Even revered
Honored
Valued

Touched by so many
Impacted by numerous
Influenced by scores
Won over by countless

Not a perfect life
A life with scars and wounds
But learned from
And shaped by

We take for granted
This thing called life
Breezing past
Day by day

Forgetting to cherish
Forgetting to enjoy
Neglecting to embrace
Neglecting to rejoice

More life to live
More love to give
More memories to be made
More gifts to share

A life cut short
But by the Master who holds the tools
Who shapes and molds
And ordains the number of our days

Our days are written
By the Author of Life
He writes our story
Beginning, middle, and end

This Master
This Author
Is the lover of our soul
And the lifter of our head

He gives
And He takes away
He begins
And He ends

Cut short?
Perhaps
But designed, authored, and sculpted
By the Creator of the universe

The One who holds the stars in His hands
Holds us
Each moment, each breath
Until we breathe our last

God loves
God gives
God comforts
God reigns

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “A LIFE CUT SHORT

  1. Bill Pearce on said:

    Beth, very poignantly stated; well done & so true.

  2. Rosemary on said:

    Beth—This is poignantly beautiful. Thank you for sharing this Gift that He has given. You know how much everything you write means to me, but this touches that spot inside of me that feels so empty and crushed right now.

    • Rosemary, your constant encouragement is a constant blessing to me. Thanks for that!

      When God speaks through us, it’s more powerful and more laced with grace than when we speak on our own accord. What a gift we have in the Holy Spirit dwelling in us.

      Praying for you, my dear friend….

  3. Sarah on said:

    God uses you, Beth. He is absolutely supreme whether we understand or not and therefore trusting Him is the salve for our wounds.

  4. Henry and Bunny Mosley on said:

    Dear Beth,
    I loved your poem. It is a beautiful expression of your reflecting and grieving for a friend who was dear in your life. Losing both Michelle and your wedding soloist friend in a short span of time is heavy duty. I loved the way you put it together in this thoughtful piece of writing. I am so very sad for Rosemary. She must feel like she has experienced a tornado in her life the past few years since losing her husband. Everyday is precious we realize and God does have the plan. How blessed we are to have his assurance that he will never leave or forsake us. “Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow.” This old hymn reminds us of his faithfulness. I’m glad you like your work. You must be a blessing for many. Love, Aunt Bunny

  5. Elizabeth Krueger on said:

    Thank you Beth! I just lost my very best friend April 8th. I was going up to visit her for a few days and found her in her apartment. To me it was “A Life Cut Short”. She was an older woman with lots of health problems so I know she was ready, but I wasn’t! She loved the Lord with all her heart! She was also my biggest cheerleader in my pursuit to go back to school to get my Sign Language degree. Anyway…I just wanted you to know that I appreciate you sharing this.

    • Thanks, Elizabeth. And I’m so sorry to hear about your friend. It’s difficult and painful when we lose our “cheerleaders.” We so need those people in our lives. What a blessing for you to have known her and seen her great love for Jesus.

Leave a Reply

