Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

EVERY DAY A PURPOSE: 16 Daily Choices to Make

Every once in a while I take notice at what is written on t-shirts, bumper stickers, billboards, or church signs. I sometimes chuckle. Other times I roll my eyes. I’ve certainly been appalled more than a few times. But mostly I’m intrigued.

Every Day A Purpose

“Every Day A Purpose.”

That’s what was written on the back of the t-shirt. I didn’t notice it at first. I noticed her, but not her shirt. She was in a corner at Starbucks either reading or working on her laptop. She was young, casually dressed, and by herself. But when I glanced over at her again, I saw the big white letters on the back of the blue t-shirt. “Every Day A Purpose.” Truthfully, I wanted to see what was on the front of the shirt, but didn’t know how to accomplish that since she was in the corner and her back was towards me. (The nonchalant method of sleuth-stalking was not gonna work this time.)

So I left that day not knowing what her t-shirt was all about. Not knowing who chose this motto. Not knowing what organization or team or church was promoting this idea. I left that day not knowing anything about “Every Day A Purpose.”

I wonder if my curiosity had been satisfied—if I had found out who was choosing to live this way—would the motto have left me. Would it? Would I have dismissed it as only “their” mantra to follow? Would I have blown it off in some critical fashion because I had seen evidence to the contrary? I’m glad I didn’t find out who it belonged to.

I cannot begin to tell you what kind of impact the back of this stranger’s t-shirt has had on me. “Every Day A Purpose.” It has challenged me to do just that: live each day with some purpose in mind. To set about my day intent on doing something, accomplishing something, making a difference, making an impact, etc. No, not solving world hunger issues, or righting the many injustices in the world, but simply living with intentionality.

To live every day with a purpose in mind:

  • To love someone more today than I did yesterday.
  • To find somebody to bless.
  • To let go of a wrong done to me.
  • To make the phone call or send the email that’s been avoided for way too long.
  • To really listen to what’s in someone else’s heart.
  • To be “media-free” for an entire day…or two (yikes!).
  • To pick up that book and read that first chapter.
  • To part with the unwanted (and long neglected) things in my closet so someone else can get some use out of them.
  • To have that chat with God that I don’t want to speak, but He longs to hear.
  • To say “yes” to joining the committee, organization, or group.
  • To admit my sin or weakness to someone and ask for accountability.
  • To compliment someone I might normally criticize.
  • To gracefully move to the solution side of the problem, rather than arrogantly stay on the problem side of the solution.
  • To say “thank you” and genuinely mean it.
  • To help the random stranger in the store or restaurant or parking lot with something they’re struggling with.
  • To pay attention to the world around me and the people who occupy it.

“Every Day A Purpose.”

What’s your purpose today?

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “EVERY DAY A PURPOSE: 16 Daily Choices to Make

  1. Very good thoughts and insight, Beth..RoseMarie

  2. Melody Shaw on said:

    Hey Beth
    It’s I loved this !!!!!! And especially your bullet points at the end. I am going to print out and put in my bathroom so every morning I see this first thing as an inspiration for my day.
    Thanks for sharing
    Melody Shaw
    Sent from my iPhone
    >

    • Bless you, Melody!
      I gotta admit, most of my posts are directed right at myself. I never claim to be the expert. What you generally read, is what I’m working on in me.
      Thanks for the encouragement!

  3. Rosemary Norton on said:

    Another great thought for consideration and action. He continues to bless you with insight that can make a real difference in our lives. I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

