Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

IN YOUR DRAMA, WHO’S THE MAIN CHARACTER?

When I was in high school I took a class called “Theater Arts.” Basically we did little skits and dramatizations all semester, being coached by one of the best teachers ever. I’m not the world’s greatest actress, but my classmates and I sure had a lot of fun. By semester’s end we did a 3-act play called The Curious Savage. It was centered on the residents and staff of a mental institution. I didn’t have the lead role but I wasn’t a bit-part either. I played the part of “Miss Willie,” a nurse who assists the doctor with the patients. I had two entrances from stage left—one near the beginning of the play in Act I, and one near the end of the play in Act III.

Now…when I mentioned earlier I wasn’t the world’s greatest actress that was really an understatement. You see, at our live performance in front of the entire school, during Act I when I entered at stage left, I mistakenly said my lines from Act III. I took the entire play from Act I to Act III in a brief, but very awkward instant. I’ll never forget it! Someone on stage, far more talented and brilliant than I in the field of acting, quickly helped us recover. (And yes…when Act III came and I entered from stage left, I said the exact same lines. Talk about embarrassing!) Needless to say, that’s all it took for me to realize I would never star on Broadway. I was far better suited to be behind the scenes rather than center stage.

The main character. Center stage. There are certainly times in our lives when we like this kind of attention. We want the kudos and accolades that being front and center bring. We sometimes enjoy being the focus of the crowd, our co-workers, or family.

Then there are times when we don’t set out to achieve this kind of notoriety, but it just happens. When you lead, people follow. When you tell a story, several people tune in. I think this is how John the Baptist was. I think he had a unique personality, lifestyle, and message that made people naturally curious, so he drew a crowd. All kinds of people engaged him in conversation. On one such occasion, he said to the crowd, “I baptize you with water. But one who is more powerful than I will come, the straps of whose sandals I am not worthy to untie. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire.”  (Luke 3:16, NIV). There was John—the center of attention, the main character—but he didn’t want to be front and center. He indicated to the multitude that there was one greater than he. He told people about God’s message. He challenged them that it was time to rethink everything. In a sense he said, “No…it’s not about me…it’s all about Jesus.”

Check out how The Message translation renders this same verse: “I’m baptizing you here in the river. The main character in this drama, to whom I’m a mere stagehand, will ignite the kingdom life, a fire, the Holy Spirit within you, changing you from the inside out.” John was the mere stagehand. Jesus was the main character.

Main Character or Stagehand?To be honest with you for a brief moment, I’ve struggled in this very area. I’ve literally been “center stage” a lot over the last 10 years. As a keynote speaker, I’ve spoken to hundreds of people across several states. And while I shared Jesus everywhere I’ve gone, I actually liked being the “main character.” So God has acted, and has gotten me out of the way. Because when it comes right down to it there’s no way I, as the main character, can ignite a fire and change people from the inside out. That’s totally God’s job. And John the Baptist got it.

I’m slowly getting it. I’m slowly, and imperfectly, getting the truth that it’s not about me. And I so want to point people to Jesus. Jesus–not Beth Armstrong–as the main character, as center stage.

What about you? In your life, in your world, in your drama, who is the main character? And who is the mere stagehand?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “IN YOUR DRAMA, WHO’S THE MAIN CHARACTER?

  1. Kim Morris on said:

    Oh Bethie, I absolutely loved that theater arts class we took together in high school! I remember “The curious savage” and everything exactly how you described it happening. I have always felt like that class played a big part in gently pushing and encouraging me out of my comfort zone at a young age. I truly believe God used that class in some small way to prepare me for the platforms (youth camp and certain ladies ministries) that he would later need me to be a part of. I am not a center stage type of person. I would just as soon someone else take the spotlight and I am happy to do what is needed behind the scenes for the cause of Christ. I’m sure there will be many times God will ask us to do both and on those days I want to respond with confidence in the fact that it is all about him and not about us!

    Do you remember the short play that you and I had to write as a project for that class? I only remember bits and pieces, but I know the story line revolved around Herschel Walker. I’m sure my mom has a copy of it in the basement somewhere with a ton of other high school papers! Love ya Beth and I continue to enjoy every one of your devotions!

  2. Thanks, Kimmie! Good times, good memories. I’d completely forgotten about our Herschel Walker play. Oh goodness, we were Hollywood bound for sure. 🙂 Love ya right back, my friend!

Leave a Reply

