Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

WHY IT’S HARD TO BE PRESENT

There are people who live fully in the moment. And I want to be one of them.

Then there are people who live fully longing for the past to resurface so they, too, can live in the moment. But past moments are…well…past. They will never resurface. No matter how hard we try, no matter how badly we want to recreate whatever golden moments we had back then, it’ll never happen.

For lots of people, past is easier than present. Past is comfortable. It’s known. And present is awkward. It’s unknown. It’s unfamiliar territory. And because of this, we don’t fully encounter it in a “let’s do this, bring it on” kind of way. We hold back. We play it safe. We hold on to pretenses while our minds secretly whisk us away to a hundred other things. And in so doing, we miss the present.

I don’t want to miss the present. I don’t want to live in past moments. I don’t want to be distracted by the haunts of what was, what used to be.

But it’s hard to be present. To be fully present. To be fully engaged in the moment. Maybe we’re all a little ADD to a degree. When we listen, we don’t totally listen. When we lock in to a conversation, we don’t completely lock in. We’re either rehearsing what we want to say next, or recalling a random, irrelevant memory in that moment.

It’s hard to be present.

And I want to be. I want to be alert. And present. Because I don’t want to miss those God-breathed moments when He acts, or moves, or speaks, or does something so profound I’m left anticipating the next moment. How cool would that be?

I want to be present.
I want to be here.
I want to be now.
I want to be fully engaged.
I want to be locked in.

Let’s do this…
Bring it on…

It’s hard to be present…but I want to be.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “WHY IT’S HARD TO BE PRESENT

  1. Pingback: WHY BOTHER OBSERVING AN “OBSERVANCE”? | Beth Armstrong

Leave a Reply

