Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

MARCH ON!

Sometimes I catch myself talking to myself. When I screw something up I might whisper to myself, “Get it together, Beth!” Or when I’m about to say something I know I shouldn’t I might whisper under my breath, “Just bite your tongue, Beth.” Sometimes when I’m excited about something I just clap to myself as if to say, “Let’s go!” or “Well done!”

I know…I’m a little outside of your definition of normal. But it’s all good!

Do you ever do this? Do you ever scold yourself? Do you ever give yourself a pep-talk?

It’s sort of like being our own advisor or coach or policeman. And I guess I reckon if nobody else is whispering in my ear at the moment when I might need to hear something, why not do it myself? Again…I know…not normal.

I was reading through the account of Deborah in the Old Testament this week. I’ve read the passage before but I really studied it this time. It’s found in Judges 4-5 in case you’re interested in reading it.

Deborah was a prophet who “was leading Israel at that time” (Judges 4:4). She’s known as one of the judges, but the word “leading” in the Hebrew means to rule, govern, judge. So, from my perspective as I read the passage on Deborah, it appears as though she was a true and godly leader of Israel. She had spiritual oversight at the time and people listened to her counsel. She was a strong woman and these kind of women always intrigue me.

Anyway…back to where I was heading…

After Deborah and her military leader Barak obtained victory over Sisera, they sang a song which is recorded in Judges 5. It’s an interesting “song” if you can even call it that. Most parts of it are really hard to understand. But then I came to verse 21 where Deborah says “March on, my soul; be strong!” Now this, I understood.

March On (Deborah)

And I wondered if Deborah was just a little bit like me. I wondered if Deborah was giving herself a two second pep-talk. I wondered if Deborah was for a moment being her own advisor or coach, whispering to herself in her ear.

Maybe in the midst of their battle against Sisera and his chariots and troops—maybe in the midst of her advising Barak all along the way—she spoke these words to herself: “March on, my soul; be strong!”

I love the phrase. I love the positive encouragement it exudes. “March on, my soul; be strong!”

In the midst of my battles, “march on.”
In the midst of my struggles, “be strong.”

When things seem impossible, when the way isn’t clear, when frustration mounts, when irritation sets in, when the tasks seem daunting, when God seems silent, when friends don’t understand, when mountains are too high and valleys too low…“March on, my soul; be strong!”

My encouragement to you today–whatever you’re facing–is to “March on…and be strong!”

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “MARCH ON!

  1. beth, thank you for this thought! instead of scolding myself – I want to replace it with these positive thoughts. prayers please.

  2. Bill Pearce on said:

    Succinctly put…love it and many there be that would profit by doing just that.

Leave a Reply

