Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

HERE’S TO LIFE’S LITTLE INCONVENIENCES

I have tennis elbow. I don’t like tennis elbow. I don’t want tennis elbow. I don’t even play tennis.

It’s just one of life’s many “inconveniences.” Oh joy!

Can you relate? Do you have any inconveniences in your life? They’re fun, aren’t they? That was a joke. No, they’re not fun at all. They’re a pain, an irritation, a frustration…and well…an inconvenience.

Here's To Life's Little Inconveniences

If you think this blog is going to contain the “7 Steps to Overcoming Inconveniences” you’re way off. I couldn’t think of 7 steps. I don’t even have one step. I have inconveniences, remember?

On the rare occasion that I’m in my car in a torrential downpour, the little space between the sun roof and passenger’s side door leaks. But the other 361½  days of the year, it’s fine. Do I get my panties in a wad over it? No, but it is an inconvenience.

The igniter switches on all four burners of my gas stove went out about a month after the warranty expired. So how do we light our gas stove? We light them the old fashion way…or semi-old fashion way. Instead of using matches we use one of those long lighters. This little inconvenience I have actually gotten used to.

My neck hurts, my jaw is messed up, I’m pretty sure I have arthritis flaring up in various parts of my body, and the root canal that I had two years ago has decided to wake up after a long siesta. Nope, not fun at all. Just more things to add to my list of life’s little inconveniences.

I know what you’re thinking. “Beth…just get over yourself and fix all of these little inconveniences in your life.”

Yeah, I guess I could. But I don’t feel like they’re worth spending the money on. Besides, just as soon as I’d fix these, I’d grow a whole new crop of inconveniences.

Maybe there’s something to them. Maybe these little inconveniences are God’s way of reminding us of the bigger, better things in life. Maybe these little inconveniences are God’s way of keeping us slightly more humble than we’d normally be.

G.K. Chesterton once said, “An inconvenience is only an adventure wrongly considered.”

Hmm…If this is true, I need to change my perspective.

If this is true, let the adventures begin. 🙂

How do you handle life’s little inconveniences?

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “HERE’S TO LIFE’S LITTLE INCONVENIENCES

  1. Elizabeth on said:

    interesting….as I am sitting in Overland Park Kansas for the past 3 hours because of car trouble!!!! Maybe I needed to hear this…hum! Trying to be thankful that I wasn’t on the highway when it happened!

  2. Indeed, Elizabeth! Perhaps this “little inconvenience” for you is an “adventure wrongly considered.” Bless you as you endure your “adventure.”

  3. Phil Myers. on said:

    Great blog. At my age anything that is not going to kill me is only inconvenient. Lol. Truth be told things only become inconveniences when you dwell on them.

  4. Sarah Sporrer on said:

    Very good reminder…having two teeth pulled the other day was just a bump in the road of life!

  5. Oh, Sarah, that is a big bump in the road! Hang in there…life is full of adventures!

Leave a Reply

