Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

HAVE A HAPPY “SHIRTLESS SNOWBALL FIGHT” NEW YEAR!

They were shirtless. They were playing in the snow. There were about a half dozen 10-12 year old boys of various shapes and sizes in the front yard. And they were only wearing sweatpants. I could tell they were trying to look cool. A couple of them were sitting on the bed of a pickup truck, a couple were standing in the driveway, and a couple were in the yard. Just hanging out. Throwing snowballs at each other. Shirtless…in December.

As people drove by, slowed down, and gawked at them, I know what they were thinking. “Why in the world are those boys out in the snow with no shirts on? Do their mothers know they’re doing this? What foolishness!”

But as I drove by, slowed down, and gawked at them, you know what I thought? “Why not? Why not have a shirtless snowball fight in December? Why not have some crazy fun? Why not grab life, do something completely out of the ordinary, and laugh?”

I smiled as I drove past these guys. It made me think how reserved we live. It made me think we’ve forgotten how to embrace spontaneity. It made me think how we conservatively live our lives because we don’t want people to think of us as foolish. It made me think of how often we miss out on laughing, for fear someone is looking.

You see, in a lot of ways we have become reclusive and unresponsive to life itself. We hole ourselves up and face plant into a TV, computer monitor, or smart phone for hours on end letting life pass us by without even realizing it. And the thing is, we’re not forced to do these things, we choose to do them.

I wonder what these guys would have done if this 46 year old mom would have stopped the car and joined them. No…not the shirtless part. That would have scared everyone half to death in the neighborhood. 🙂 But if I had joined in on the snowball fight, what might they have thought? What would the neighbors have thought?

Here’s the thing…I loved the idea of a shirtless snowball fight in December. I loved the reckless abandon. I loved the spontaneity. There’s a song by an artist named Seal that says “In a world full of people only some want to fly, isn’t that crazy?” The song goes on to say “We’re never gonna survive unless we get a little crazy.”

Have a Happy Shirtless Snowball Fight New Year

As 2014 begins, I’m suggesting we all ingest a little bit of the “shirtless snowball fight” mentality. How so? Read on…

  • Grab life
  • If you wanna fly, go for it
  • Don’t settle for mediocre when you can have marvelous
  • Bake a cake…and give it away
  • Make some crazy good memories
  • Break a bad habit…finally
  • Do something spontaneous
  • Power off the technology and make a long distance phone call instead
  • Ditch the reservations
  • Throw off the fear
  • Change your attitude
  • Trade pessimism for optimism
  • Quit complaining
  • For a moment, forget about what other people might think
  • Play in the rain
  • Pick up the tab at a restaurant for a complete stranger
  • Plant a smile on your face for an entire day
  • Get a little crazy

Won’t you join me in raising your glass on this first day of 2014 and saying, “Here’s to a Happy Shirtless Snowball Fight New Year!”

What would you add to the list above? Please feel free to leave a comment and share with the rest of us!

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “HAVE A HAPPY “SHIRTLESS SNOWBALL FIGHT” NEW YEAR!

  1. Sarah Sporrer on said:

    Just absolutely LOVE this post! Happy New Year, Beth…keep on keepin’ on 🙂

Leave a Reply

