Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

THE POWER OF ENCOURAGEMENT: 10 Truths to Consider

I’ll never forget my experience on summer staff at Young Life’s Castaway Club when I was in college. The list is long of things I learned that have stayed with me for the last 25 years.

I remember a new-found friend and I making fun of the camp director every time he drilled the following Bible verses into our heads before each meal: “And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching” (Hebrews 10:24-25). It felt so redundant it became comical for us. But, I’ll tell you what, because of his relentless dedication to the memorization of these two little verses 25 years ago, I’ve never forgotten them. And in my maturity, both spiritual and emotional, I’ve grown to appreciate these verses over and over again.

In these two simple little verses we see great significance: spurring on one another, meeting together, encouraging one another. Oh that we would consider such things as these!

Photo courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net

Let us consider…

Encouragement.  What a powerful word! What a powerful tool! Here are 10 truths for you to consider as you seek to encourage people who are in your world.

Encouragement:

  • Says “I’m proud of you”
  • Displays confidence in another
  • Brings comfort and joy despite troubles
  • Happens when change is evident
  • Is displayed in devotion to a person, their mission, vision, etc.
  • Refreshes the soul of another
  • Tells the truth
  • Brags on the goodness of others
  • Welcomes, receives, and embraces
  • Shows respect

Consider what leadership guru John Maxwell says, “Remember, man does not live on bread alone: sometimes he needs a little buttering up.”

Who do you need to spur on today? Who do you need to encourage today?

“Let us consider how we may spur one another on… “

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “THE POWER OF ENCOURAGEMENT: 10 Truths to Consider

  1. Beth, Thanks for that gentle nudge. We all need to be reminded that encouragement can move mountains. Good insight. Binny

  2. Linda Carnes on said:

    good stuff, Beth………..Now, GO COWBOYS !!!……….

  3. Pingback: The Power of Together | Clutter Interrupted | Clutter Interrupted

  4. directorb on said:

    Great reminder of the power of our words and how we should always strive to build others up.

  5. Janice Messenger on said:

    Love this…not sure whether I sent it to you….Hang in there!!!

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

