Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

SLOW ME DOWN, LORD!

The following is a prayer written by Orin L. Crain in 1957. I happened upon it this week as I was glancing through a book at my in-laws. I’d say Mr. Crain thought rather profoundly in the 1950’s. In a crazy, mixed-up, warp-speed, lost world with all kinds of misplaced priorities, we all need a dose of what Mr. Crain prayed.

I would invite you to sit back, relax for a moment, and read his prayer slowly. Let it soak in. Let it permeate the busyness of your mind, heart, and soul. Read it, then pray it. Pray it, then believe it. Believe it, then live it.

“Slow me down, Lord!
Ease the pounding of my heart
By the quieting of my mind.
Steady my hurried pace
With a vision of the eternal reach of time.
Give me,
Amidst the confusion of my day,
The calmness of the everlasting hills.
Break the tensions of my nerves
With the soothing music of the singing streams
That live in my memory.
Help me to know
The magical restoring power of sleep.
Teach me the art
Of taking minute vacations of slowing down
to look at a flower;
to chat with an old friend or make a new one;
to pat a stray dog;
to watch a spider build a web;
to smile at a child;
or to read a few lines from a good book.
Remind me each day
That the race is not always to the swift;
That there is more to life than increasing its speed.
Let me look upward
Into the branches of the towering oak
And know that it grew great and strong
Because it grew slowly and well.
Slow me down, Lord,
And inspire me to send my roots deep
Into the soil of life’s enduring values
That I may grow toward the stars
Of my greater destiny.”

Oh, that God would slow us all down…at least a little bit. 🙂

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “SLOW ME DOWN, LORD!

  1. Betty Arber on said:

    The poem was a prayer of the Hittites and is well known throughout Turkey. However in the US it is asserted to be written by Wilfred Arlan Peterson. Whomever actually wrote it is not of great importance except to the author but the message is.

  2. Thanks for the info, Betty. True…it’s not the messenger, but the message that’s important. Have a great “slow down” kind of day! 🙂

  3. Jenna Crain on said:

    Orin Crain was my great grandfather. I heard great things about him from my dad. Do you have any more information about the family?

    • Jenna, unfortunately I do not have any other info. As I said in the blog, I just happened upon his prayer. It really touched me when I read it. Orin must have been a pretty special man. Little did he know how desperately we in this century need his same perspective as we do life in our crazy world.

      Blessings to you and your family, Jenna!

  4. bobvanourek on said:

    I am writing a book and quoting some poetry including “Slow me down, Lord.” I would like to give proper credit to the true American author of this old Hittite prayer and am confused about who really wrote it, when, and if I need to seek copyright protection to quote it. Was it Wilferd Peterson, as Wikipedia says, or Orin L. Crain?
    Please respond to bob@triplecrownleadership.com if any of you kind folks can help. Thank you.

  5. Bob, I really have no idea who the author was. The book I read at my in-laws, gave the credit to Orin Crain. But obviously there’s some question about that. Sorry I can’t be of more help for you.

Leave a Reply

