Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

WHAT DO YOU SHARE “WITH JOYFUL URGENCY”?

Joyful urgency. Don’t you just love that phrase? Not just urgency, but joyful urgency. What in the world could be so thrilling that you would proclaim it with “joyful urgency”?

It snowed in Kansas City this week. Only briefly, but there were big flakes coming from the sky for about 20-30 minutes. It was kinda exciting. So I immediately texted my husband and shared this good news with him. Granted it wasn’t earth shattering. But it was exciting enough for me to want to immediately communicate it “with joyful urgency.” (I almost put it on Twitter, but since it wasn’t that thrilling, I stopped short of that international broadcast.)

Over Thanksgiving, a young couple I know got engaged. Now that’s exciting! So as soon as Kelsie texted me with the good news, I immediately shared it with my family “with joyful urgency.”

My oldest son told me “with joyful urgency” that there was over 1100 yards of total offense in the OSU Cowboys/OU Sooners game recently. Now that’s impressive.

So, what was the last thing you told someone “with joyful urgency”?

When Jesus called His 12 disciples together, He gave them a few brief instructions and sent them out in pairs. They hit the road and “preached with joyful urgency that life can be radically different…” (Mark 6:12, MSG).

Did you catch that? They preached with “joyful urgency.” And what was it that they shared with people? That life can be radically different. And friends, this is exciting. This is good news. This is thrilling. Life doesn’t have to be meaningless. Life doesn’t have to feel like a constant dead-end. Life can be radically different. Notice…I didn’t say life can be perfect. I said life can be radically different. And the disciples couldn’t wait to share this truth with other folks.

Is this the kind of message we are sharing with others? And do we share it “with joyful urgency”? Or are we more apt to share the good news of snow, engagements, and football statistics?

I challenge you this week to share with someone “with joyful urgency” some of these exciting, life-changing truths:

  • For God so loved (insert their name), that He gave His only Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have eternal life. (John 3:16)
  • If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved. (Romans 10:9)
  • Jesus said, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” (John 14:6)
  • For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God. (Ephesians 2:8)
  • For in Him we live and move and have our being… (Acts 17:28)

Life can be radically different. For some, life needs to be radically different. But if we don’t share “with joyful urgency,” they just might never know…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

