Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

OBEDIENCE WHEN IT DOESN’T MAKE SENSE

Has anyone ever asked you to do something that just didn’t make sense? Something that, at the time, seemed illogical or irrational? Sometimes we shake our head, blow them off, and go on about our business. Occasionally we follow through with the seemingly irrational, illogical task only to find out later that the request was actually fruitful.

But what about God? Has God ever asked you to do something that didn’t make sense? Something that seemed illogical or irrational? Believe me, it happens. And it happened a couple thousand years ago.

After a long night of fishing and catching nothing, Simon and his buddies were at the water’s edge cleaning their nets. Jesus asked Simon to put his boat out just a little ways so He could teach the folks who had crowded around him. I would guess this was not really on Simon’s agenda, but apparently he was okay with this request and relented.

After Jesus was finished speaking, He told Simon “Put out into deep water, and let the nets down for a catch” (Luke 5:4). Excuse me? Say what? This was definitely not on Simon’s agenda. Think about it. These guys had fished all night and caught nothing. They were tired. They were worn out. They were done. They were cleaning up and anticipating a long morning siesta. The request was seemingly illogical and irrational. It didn’t make sense, and certainly wasn’t a welcome one. But Jesus told him to row out into the deep water, and drop the nets down.

Simon, in his own defense, responded with a worthy, honest answer, “Master, we’ve worked all night and haven’t caught anything.” (He put it much nicer than I would have.) Then Simon said something that should be our response, but many times isn’t. He said, “But because You say so, I will let down the nets” (Luke 5:5).

But because You say so…I will!

There it is. Obedience when it doesn’t make sense. Obedience when it seems illogical or irrational. “But because You say so…I will.” Simon did what he was told to do for no other reason than Jesus simply telling him to.

You see, all arguing has to eventually come to a close when God asks (or tells) us to do something. All the excuses must ultimately cease. All attempts at defending ourselves must eventually fall by the wayside. If you’re like me at all, we treat God like our well-intentioned friends who tell us to do something. We shake our head, blow Him off, and go on about our business. But what God wants from us is obedience. Jeremiah 7:23 says, “This is what I told them: ‘Obey me, and I will be your God, and you will be my people. Do everything as I say, and all will be well!'”

Our response, even when we’re tired, worn out, frustrated, confused, broken, and empty should be the same as Simon’s. Not sometimes, but all the time. “But because You say so…I will!”

Obedience…even when it doesn’t make sense.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “OBEDIENCE WHEN IT DOESN’T MAKE SENSE

  1. This makes me think of the Shema in Deut. 6:4,5 “Hear O Israel”
    Hear can be translated Hear and Obey in Hebrew. I think of it as Hear/Do as if it is all one action.
    Someone used the example of ancient asian slaves who learned a command from a master’s mere blink of the eye and immediately moved to obey.
    In Eph. 4 Paul talks about “walking worthy.” Worthy can be translated “to balance the scales”. Who is on the other side of the scales? I imagine that is Jesus and sometimes when confused about what to do – look over – in my “mind’s eye” to see what He is doing. Guess it’s my own WWJD.

Leave a Reply

