Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

AN INVITATION TO THE TIRED

Tired. Exhausted. Burdened. Bogged down. Worn out. Sound familiar? How often do we use these words to describe ourselves? How often do you hear others use them to describe their current state of being? Tired. Worn out. Burdened. These are what we feel from time to time when life gets in the way. When busyness takes over. When over-booked schedules, pressing deadlines, endless errands, and non-stop events invade our existence.

Sadly, it’s common. It’s the norm. And all too often…it’s empty.

I want you to hear the words of Jesus from some 2,000 years ago as He spoke to the crowd. “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly” (Matthew 11:28-30, MSG).

This is a contemporary version of what He actually said, but if Jesus were around today, I’d imagine He would say something close to this. Did you notice the words He used? Tired. Worn out. Burned out. That’s us. But did you also notice His invitations?

  • Come to me
  • Get away with me
  • Walk with me
  • Work with me
  • Watch how I do it
  • Keep company with me

In the midst of our crazy, mixed-up, worn out lives, how can we decline such an invitation like this? You see, Jesus wants that kind of relationship with us. One in which we “hang out” with Him. Do life with Him. Learn from Him. Live with Him.

If we take His invitation seriously, what are the benefits? What might we gain?

  • Recovery of our lives
  • A real rest
  • Learning the unforced rhythms of grace
  • Living freely and lightly

Aahh! How refreshing. How amazing. And how inviting! (Personally, I would choose recovery, rest, and grace over tired, worn out, and burdened any day!)

There’s an old hymn called In the Garden written in 1912 by C. Austin Miles. It speaks of a close, conversational walk with God through a garden. Here’s the chorus:

And He walks with me, and He talks with me,
And He tells me I am His own;
And the joy we share as we tarry there,
None other has ever known.

Hanging out with the God who created us. Doing life with One who gives abundant life. This is the invitation we are given each day, throughout the day. Walking with Jesus, working with Him, keeping company with Him. And when we do so…we will find rest. We will experience recovery. We will come to know the unforced rhythms of grace. And as the hymn states, there is joy awaiting us as we “tarry there” (i.e. remain, linger, sojourn, and stay put).

I will say it again…how refreshing, how amazing, and how inviting!

How about going on a walk today? Either literally or figuratively, walk with Jesus today. Hang out with Him. Listen to and learn from Him. And as you do, keep these words in the forefront of your mind: rest, recovery, company, freely, and lightly.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “AN INVITATION TO THE TIRED

  1. This is exactly how I have been feeling lately and I don’t like it! I think I needed this to get back on track. Today is the start of a new attitude and spending more time with God. Thanks, Beth!

Leave a Reply

