Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

WEDDING OF THE CENTURY? SERIOUSLY?

“The Wedding of the Century.” That’s what the headline on the magazine cover read as I stood in the checkout line at the grocery store. Expecting to see royalty or some world political leader, I had to do a double take when I saw Jennifer Aniston and her soon-to-be new hubby (whatever his name is) on the cover.  (Personal disclaimer here: I’m not advocating for, being paid by, nor promoting this magazine. I’ve never read nor purchased it.)

Jennifer Anniston and new husband

Wedding of the Century? Seriously?

I shook my head. The “Wedding of the Century.” Seriously?

First of all, the century is only 13.65 years old. Second of all, it’s Jennifer Aniston. (Granted she is a mega star celebrity, but still…) And third of all, she’s marrying… um… uh… “what’s his name.”

Admittedly I did not read the article. And I don’t intend to. So, I have no idea what the magazine based its claim on. Was it purely by Miss Aniston’s superstar celebrity? Was it money spent on the wedding gown? The number of guests attending? The A-list of the invitees? The wedding locale?

Let me just say, I attended two weddings in the last in the last four weeks. The first was of my eldest son’s 5th grade teacher. (My son is now a junior in high school.) The bride and I have remained friends. It was a delightful wedding. She was a gorgeous bride. She married a dashing young man. The reception was beautifully decorated–albeit a little to Mizzou-ish for this Oklahoma State fan. 🙂 Why wasn’t hers the “wedding of the century”?

Or why wasn’t that title awarded to my cousin’s wedding? He’s 47 years old. Never been married. Nicest guy you’d ever want to meet. Hard workin’ oil man from Oklahoma. He married a gal from Bogota, Columbia, South America that he met online a few years ago. (Interesting story!) When she arrived at the church and stepped out of the limo, my family was speechless. She’s beautiful. All of my family was involved in this wedding in some way. Why wasn’t his the “wedding of the century”?

Here’s the thing…society sometimes celebrates (i.e. glorifies, exalts, holds in high regard, etc.) some of the shallowest things. “Weddings of the Century” should hold a distant second to “Marriages of the Century.” When was the last time you saw that headline on a magazine? Think about it…none of the following weddings (which were dubbed “Wedding of the Century” or something similar) ended in “happily ever after.”

  • Prince Charles and Lady Diana Spencer
  • Elizabeth Taylor and her 1st husband Conrad Hilton (lasted 205 days)
  • Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton (married twice…divorced twice)
  • Ted Turner and Jane Fonda

“Marriages of the Century.” Now there’s a novel idea. Husbands and wives who stay together “till death do us part.” Husbands and wives who work through differences, shepherd and nurture their kids, instill values and morals in them, work hard, play hard, invest in the lives of others, give generously, serve their church and community, have integrity, build lasting relationships with others, love each other faithfully, and stay committed. That’s something to celebrate!

Who do you know that should be celebrated as having the “Marriage of the Century”?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “WEDDING OF THE CENTURY? SERIOUSLY?

  1. Janeen Burngam on said:

    Janeen and Jim Burnham – in answer to your question “Who do you know … as having the marriage of the century?”

    We’ve been married 50 years on Sept 1! Coming from such diverse backgrounds, it might be considered a miracle that our relationship ever melded into what it is today. As Jim and I walked tentatively towards the altar, at 20 years of age, I with the divorce of my parents (twice) looming like a dark cloud over my head, we made the most important decision of our lives. “Divorce” was stricken from our vocabulary. We opened Webster’s Dictionary and with a permantly marker crossed out the word “divorce.”

    With that back door closed and locked, we entered the front door of our marriage with the resolve to somehow make it work. In those early years we learned something valuable: it was not our love for each other that sustained our marriage, but our commitment to our marriage relationship (and the vows we took) that would sustain our love for each other.

    And here we are, 50 years later, still at it. We’ve beat the odds – Wahoo!

Leave a Reply

