Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

THE QUANDARY OF ONE GOOD DEED

One good deed. Is it really a quandary? Seriously? What if we all did one good deed per day? What if we all did one kind thing for someone else every day? How in the world could this be called a quandary?

Let me explain…

As I was walking through my neighborhood this morning I came upon a trash bag sitting by the curb that was tipped over. It was several driveways ahead of me and I could see from a distance that the trash inside had fallen out and was strewn about the driveway and yard. With the passing of each driveway, I was one step closer to “the quandary.” Do I pick up the trash, or leave it? If I crossed the street to the other side before I reached “the quandary,” I wouldn’t even have to walk past it. I could avoid “the quandary” altogether.

I wrestled. I was torn with the dilemma of whether or not to do one good deed. One kind thing for someone else. As I walked ever nearer to this quandary, the conversations in my head borderlined on the ridiculous. It’s not my trash, therefore it’s not my responsibility. Surely the trash man will pick it up. That’s his job, isn’t it? I don’t want to give any passersby the impression that I’m sifting through people’s trash. I don’t really want to take the time to pick up somebody else’s trash.

See? It was a quandary.

But it was one good deed. One kind thing for someone else. Why should doing one good deed be such a quandary for us? I’ll tell you why…

  1. We value our time entirely too much to do one good deed.
  2. We don’t want to risk getting involved in doing one good deed.
  3. We worry too much about our reputation to do one good deed.
  4. We value our material possessions entirely too much to do one good deed.

Honestly, we need to “step over” ourselves just a little. We need to see things in a bigger picture sense. It’s time to obliterate the quandary. Let me ask the questions again: What if we all did one good deed per day? What if we all did one kind thing for someone else every day?

What if…?

Saint Basil once said, “A tree is known by its fruit, a man by his deeds. A good deed is never lost; he who sows courtesy reaps friendship, and he who plants kindness gathers love.”

A good deed is never lost…So, what prevents you from doing one good deed?

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “THE QUANDARY OF ONE GOOD DEED

  1. De May on said:

    You did your “one good deed” on Wed. by coming up and visiting & praying with my husband. Sometimes, we just don’t realize how much that one act of kindness means in someone’s life.

  2. Sarah Sporrer on said:

    So…what did you do about “the quandary”?

Leave a Reply

