Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

CALL THEM BY NAME

I walk into Panera. Mindy greets me by name.

Nick, the bank teller, immediately shouts my name with enthusiasm when I pull up at the drive-through.

As Rachel slides my items through the scanner at the grocery store, she calls me by name.

No, I don’t know any of these folks. They’re not my friends. They’re people I’ve met as I frequent their places of business. They call me by name.

Do you have any idea how this makes me feel? There is something powerful that happens when someone addresses me by name. (No, not honey, sweetheart, or darlin’. That, for me, has power in a condescending way…but that’s a whole different story. :-)) For me, there’s an unspoken transaction that takes place when someone calls me by my name. You see, what they don’t realize is that they are subtly communicating to me, “Beth, you’re worth something. You’re valued. You’re appreciated. You’re more than just a number, an account, a customer. You’re respected. You matter.”

It doesn’t take much to make the same kind of deposit in the lives of people we encounter on a day-to-day basis. You see their name tag on their shirt. You notice their name plate on their desk. You just met someone at a school function, church service, or ball game. It doesn’t matter. The transaction can still take place between you and them if you simply call them by name.

Whether you’ve just met someone, or known them for years, make a conscious effort to make a deposit into their value bank. Call them by name. Calling them by name takes the awkward out of the air. Calling them by name brings an unexplainable comfort. Calling them by name communicates far more than we can ever imagine.

In his book How to Win Friends and Influence People, Dale Carnegie wrote, “Remember that a person’s name is to that person the sweetest and most important sound in any language.”

Who do you need to bless today with the sweetest and most important sound? Who will you call by name? 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “CALL THEM BY NAME

  1. De May on said:

    Beth,
    You are so right!! Everyone appreciates being called by their name.

  2. Janice Messenger on said:

    Hi, Beth, Please be praying about whether you need to be putting these blogs together for another book. They are very real, very rich, and something that every reader can relate to. Not everyone has the privilege to be your friend, but they sure as heck could be blessed by your writing.

    We need these reminders…..
    Love,
    Jan

Leave a Reply

