Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

CHRISTIANS HAVE COOTIES!

When I was a kid in the early 70’s, cooties ran rampant in my elementary school. Yours too, I’m sure. You didn’t want to go near the kids with cooties because you were at risk of being infected with them as well. Infected with what? Well….cooties, of course! But just what were cooties? What exactly would I be infected with? Would I get sick if I got cooties? Would I die?

I realize that the word cooties can be interpreted in many ways. But in my day, there was no real physical disease or ailment attached with cooties. It was all imaginary. Kids with cooties were kids who were “different.” They may have looked a little disheveled or perhaps had a peculiar smell. Bottom line…..they were distinctly different. 

What if I were to tell you that Christians have cooties too? Think about it…..to non-Christians, we’re looked upon very negatively. Non-Christians don’t want to come near us. We look different. We act different. And if non-Christians come near us, they just might be “infected” with some undesirable “disease.”

But shouldn’t we as Christians want to infect (or at least affect) every non-Christian we come in contact with? Shouldn’t we look different? (“Live clean, innocent lives as children of God, shining like bright lights in a world full of crooked and perverse people” Philippians 2:15.) Shouldn’t we smell different? (“Our lives are a Christ-like fragrance rising up to God. But this fragrance is perceived differently by those who are being saved and by those who are perishing” 2 Corinthians 2:15.)

My Christian friends, who are you infecting today?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

