Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

HIT THE DECK!

I couldn’t take it anymore. I had to hit the deck! Which is code for “I power washed my deck” this week. Ok, first of all…I had no idea I would hardly be able to move following this joyous endeavor. Who knew that you literally use every muscle and joint in your body to power wash a deck? I sat in my recliner all day yesterday as a result of my valiant efforts the previous day. Broken, battered, and bruised…but alas…I sat there with a clean deck.

Although my body still aches today, my mind keeps going back to a most intriguing discovery about my power washing experience. At first I thought it was the coolest thing ever. All that power I had in my hand, pumping from the 3000 max psi, 7.0 hp, gas-powered washer. As soon as the water hit the deck it immediately started removing the grime, dirt, and whatever else seeps its way in there. I was thoroughly impressed. You could even see the stark difference between the “clean side” and the “grime side.”

After about a third of the way through the job, I moved from being impressed to being disgusted. I was totally blown away by how filthy my deck had gotten. I had no idea it was that gross until I began power washing. A good five years of nasty build-up had camped out and made its home on the surface of my deck. Yuck! But what was most curious to me was the fact that the dirtiest parts of the deck were not the fully exposed parts of the deck. The dirtiest areas were the ones that were partially covered by the wrought iron table, chairs, swings, and end tables.

Then it hit me. Wow! Could this be a picture of my sinfulness? Just like my deck, I certainly don’t look that dirty on the surface. And just like my deck, the parts of me that I allow to be exposed aren’t nearly as filthy as the parts of me I cover up. Again…wow! Although it was the perfect illustration for me, I didn’t like it one bit. It was depressing. I got tired and sore and wanted to quit. But my deck needed a thorough cleansing. And so, apparently, do I.

King David wrote in Psalm 51:2 “Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin” (ESV). David knew he needed a thorough cleansing too. You see, the power of the “Master Power Washer” is available to each and every one of us. 1 John 1:9 says “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness” (ESV).

What are you waiting for? Hit the deck! Be cleansed (and “power washed”) right now. Go forth clean…and blessed…by the “Master Power Washer.”

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “HIT THE DECK!

  1. Bunny Mosley on said:

    Beth, thank you for sharing your deck thoughts. I found it refreshing and challenging to start my day today. It was wonderful to be able to share the Cherokee retreat and be inspired and challenged by your words and the creative way you helped us to explore our prayer life. Thank you for making this investment in us and the women of Cherokee. Love Aunt Bunny

Leave a Reply

