Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

DO WE DARE ANSWER JESUS WITH SARCASM?

Have you ever noticed that Jesus asked some really funky questions in the bible? No, seriously…He did! If I were in the crowd, I fear I would have responded to Him in a most sarcastic, perhaps even callous or pompous way.

Consider the time when He encountered two blind guys on the road who were crying out to Him for mercy. He asked them point-blank, “What do you want me to do for you?” My response:  Are you serious, Jesus? You just asked two blind guys what you could do for them?

How about the time Jesus met a gentlemen who had been disabled for 38 years. Jesus asked this guy straight up, “Do you want to get well?” My response:  Duh, Jesus!

And this one really gets me. When Jesus was 12 years old, His parents had gone to Jerusalem for the Passover. They left town and realized that their son was nowhere to be found. After three days missing, they found Him in the temple back in Jerusalem. That’s when Jesus asked His parents, “Why were you searching for me? Didn’t you know I had to be in my Father’s house?” My response:  Excuse me, Jesus? Parents with lost children go looking high and low for them…and church isn’t necessarily the first place they look.

We laugh at the seeming oddity of some of His questions, but Jesus also asked some very direct, poignant ones as well. And I think these particular questions are timeless. They had relevance then…and now. How would you answer these questions posed by Jesus:

  • Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? (Luke 12:25)
  • What good will it be for a man if he gains the whole world, yet forfeits his soul? (Matthew 16:26)
  • Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? (Matthew 7:3)
  • Why do you entertain evil thoughts in your hearts? (Matthew 9:4)
  • Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith? (Mark 4:40)
  • Why do you call me ‘Lord, Lord’ and do not do what I say? (Luke 6:46)
  • Why are you so troubled, and why do doubts rise in your minds? (Luke 24:38)
  • But what about you? Who do you say I am? (Matthew 16:15)

Do we dare to respond to these questions with the same sarcasm and callousness as I did earlier? The truth is, if we allow them to, these questions penetrate our hearts. These questions challenge the core of our being. And ultimately, these questions have eternal significance.

How do you answer? With sarcasm, callousness, or apathy? Or with sincerity, honesty, and humility?

If you could ask Jesus one question, what would it be?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “DO WE DARE ANSWER JESUS WITH SARCASM?

  1. Pingback: Where Are You? | Clutter Interrupted

Leave a Reply

