Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

COMPLICATED CHAOS vs. SIMPLE SOLUTIONS

When I was in elementary school, I decided to put my carpentry skills to work and build a wooden airplane. I headed down to my parents garage, gathered some scrap wood and began my quest. I measured, sawed, and hammered away until finally, my creation was assembled. However, it lacked one key thing–paint! I sifted through the plethora of spray paint cans we had and found the ideal color for my perfectly hand-crafted airplane–metallic silver.  I then put some newspaper down on the garage floor (being extra careful to not get paint all over the place), set my airplane on top, and away I went…sorta… You see, no sooner had I started spraying the beautiful metallic silver when the nozzle of the spray paint can broke off. I know what you’re thinking: Bummer…but no big deal. Right? WRONG! It was a big deal because the paint didn’t stop spraying when the nozzle broke off! All of a sudden, there was a projectile spewing forth of metallic silver paint…everywhere!

I panicked! Paint was getting on me, the floor, the walls, the shelves, the ceiling…all over creation. I had no idea what to do, so I ran out of our garage, along the side of our house, sprinted all the way across our big back yard, stood at the edge of the small sandy cliff that led to the creek and launched the can. It was a beautiful sight…metallic silver paint cascading in a spiral motion all the way down from the top of the cliff to the creek bed below.

As I slowly sauntered back to our garage, bummed that my airplane would no longer be metallic silver, I had this thought: Why didn’t I just throw the dumb spray paint can in the trash?

A simple solution to my complicated chaos.

You see, when life goes awry, it’s easy to panic. When we’re in the throes of complicated chaos, objectivity is one of the first things to take a hike. I would challenge that, at least for a moment, in the midst of our frenzy, there is a simple solution. Recalling God’s words in Isaiah 41:10, He said “Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.”

God’s in charge. God is with us. God will strengthen us. God will hold us up. Don’t be afraid. Don’t be discouraged.

How do you deal with your complicated chaos?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “COMPLICATED CHAOS vs. SIMPLE SOLUTIONS

  1. True, so true. Here in the conflict resolution world we call it responding instead of reacting. I have to say, I can visualize you doing that. I am guessing it was when you all were living at the house in Berry Heights with the creek in back, not the farm.

Leave a Reply

