Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

PARENTS, WE HAVE LOST OUR MINDS!

I’m a parent. I have two teenage sons. It’s hard raising kids in this day and age. But it’s not an excuse for my poor parenting…or yours. Here’s the thing…there is no rewind button in life. We don’t get “do-overs.” The weeks, months, and years we blow it can never be regained, redeemed, or given a second chance. As I look around, talk to other parents, engage with middle and high school kids, I’m convinced of one thing: As parents, we’ve lost our minds! We’ve checked out. We’ve fallen prey to the ugly standards of a world that insists on busyness, superficiality, apathy, beauty, power, sex, money, and narcissism. The world is winning. And parents, we are losing.

Let’s be honest about the fact that we’re flawed. We need to improve. And as I see it, here are some of the most obvious ways:

1)    We allow our kids full-on internet access on phones, desktops, laptops, iPads, iPods, etc.

2)    We allow our daughters to dress as provocatively as the cover of Cosmopolitan. 

3)    We permit hours upon hours of gaming.

4)    We tolerate kids treating us parents and other adults with disrespect and contempt.

5)    We spend money left and right on the latest, greatest, name brand, top notch, biggest, and best for our kids.

6)    We no longer sit down to share family meals together.

7)    We permit extracurricular activities to trump all things family and church related.

8)    Our kids don’t know the value of hard work.

9)    We come to their rescue, never letting them fail or learn from the consequences of making a mistake.

10)  We let our kids watch any TV show or movie out there, and read whatever books they choose.

Call me a prude. Call me crazy. Call me behind the times. Call me what you will. But, I fear the generation we’re raising. Not because it’s getting tougher to raise them, but because of the choices we parents are making. We gotta wake up. We gotta make changes. We gotta step up and teach, lead, spend time, encourage, invest ourselves, caution, get engaged, counsel, be aware, stop being naïve, win the battles, rearrange our priorities, pay attention, get in the game, and finally get off our duffs and insist on change.

We have one shot at raising our kids. It’s not their responsibility to raise themselves. It’s not the school’s responsibility, nor your pastor’s responsibility, nor your neighbor’s.

We parents have lost our minds…but it’s not too late to find them.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

