Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

FORCE A SPEED BUMP

I was flying on an airplane recently, quickly flipping through the airline magazine, when this sentence from one of the articles popped out at me: “For your own sake, do something that serves as a speed bump in your life.”

Interesting, I thought, because speed bumps are sometimes annoying, aren’t they? Why would I do something on purpose that serves as an annoyance? In all reality, some speed bumps can be a real “jolt” to your system when you drive over them. Others, however, are rather smooth and pleasant as you gently glide over them. But as I thought about them further, they do serve a purpose. Speed bumps, whether you like them or not, exist to slow you down!

We live in a culture that is constantly moving, going, and doing. If you’re not engaged in 27 ½ activities each week, you apparently aren’t “normal.” In my opinion, our busyness has reached an all-time ridiculous level. I agree with the writer of Ecclesiastes who said “God made us plain and simple, but we have made ourselves very complicated” (Ecclesiastes 7:29, TEV). We have chosen to be over-committed in far too many areas in our lives. The result? Worn out, stressed-out, frazzled, anxious, spread-too-thin, and depleted of spiritual, emotional, mental, and physical energy.

It’s during these busy times when I recall what Jesus spoke about rest for the weary. He said, “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly” (Matthew 11:28-30, MSG). What a wonderful invitation from our Lord and Savior!

So, as the new year begins to unfold, I encourage you to slow down, take a breath, and savor the moment, whatever that moment might bring for you. If you’re feeling like this is the worst time to try and slow down, that probably is a pretty good indication that you need it more than ever. Get away with Jesus and recover your life. Walk with Him. Work with Him. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. Learn from Jesus and allow Him to show you how to take a real rest.

Are you worn out? Are you over-committed? Are you stressed out? Do you need to slow down?

For your own sake—and perhaps for the sake of others in your life— do something that serves as a speed bump in your life!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “FORCE A SPEED BUMP

  1. Pingback: Can't You Just Relax? | Clutter Interrupted

Leave a Reply

