Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

A NEW YEAR’S PRAYER

What do you think of when you hear the word “new”? Thoughts like fresh, clean, up-to-date, contemporary, and of course NOT old come to my mind. I think of a new outfit, a new car, a new birth, exciting changes, and fresh ideas.

As we scour the Scriptures we see this word “new” all over. God refers to new wine, new covenant, new heavens, new earth, new heart, new life, new growth, etc. It’s exciting when you stop and think about it. I mean, isn’t it wonderful to dwell on the promise we have in Lamentations 3:23 that “His mercies are new every morning”? And Paul writes in 2 Corinthians 5:17 “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!” Praise God that He provides new, newness, renewal, and renewing.

I love what God said through the prophet Isaiah in 43:19-20 “For I am about to do something new. See, I have already begun! Do you not see it? I will make a pathway through the wilderness. I will create rivers in the dry wasteland…Yes, I will make rivers in the dry wasteland so my chosen people can be refreshed.”  Wow! Bring it on, God! I don’t know about you, but I’m ready for that kind of newness this year.

There’s something exciting about new. But in the same breath, there’s also something frightening. It’s unknown, unfamiliar. A new year is upon us. 2012 is here. We have new opportunities, new jobs, new resolutions, new roles, new classes, new obligations, new motivations, and perhaps new responsibilities. 2012 is uncharted territory. No matter how frightening it may be, our sovereign God is in control. He’s on the throne.

As we welcome the New Year, my prayer for each of us is the Apostle Paul’s prayer to the church in Ephesus: “I pray for you constantly, asking God, the glorious Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, to give you spiritual wisdom and insight so that you might grow in your knowledge of God. I pray that your hearts will be flooded with light so that you can understand the confident hope he has given to those he called—his holy people who are his rich and glorious inheritance. I also pray that you will understand the incredible greatness of God’s power for us who believe him” (Ephesians 1:16-19).

How about in 2012, we resolve to grow in our knowledge of Him. Let’s allow our hearts to be flooded with light. Let’s get a grasp of the hope we have in Jesus Christ. Let’s understand the incredible greatness of God’s power. Let’s anticipate God doing something new in each of our lives!

What new thing are you anticipating God doing in your life this year?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “A NEW YEAR’S PRAYER

  1. Right on Prima! I particularly appreiciated Eph. 1:16-19 and the specific requests in that prayer. ‘Heart flooded with light to understand the confident hope given us’ really sounds like what I need right now.

Leave a Reply

