Beth Armstrong

Christian wife, mom, & author. Doing life with my eyes fixed on Jesus. I walk, I stumble, I fall. But God is big. And this is what I write about… Thanks for stopping by!

TASSELS

We would look pretty ridiculous if we all had tassels sown to the ends of our shirts or jackets or dresses. To tell you the truth, I think it would drive me crazy to have several long, dangly things hanging from the bottom of my sweatshirt that I’m wearing today. They would catch on things as I walked passed. I would constantly be aware of them, messing with them, tugging on them, etc. Oh, but wait…wasn’t that at least part of God’s intention with the tassels in the Old Testament?

I read this in Numbers 15:37-41 yesterday:

37 The LORD said to Moses, 38 “Speak to the Israelites and tell them that throughout their generations they are to make tassels for the corners of their garments, and put a blue cord on the tassel at [each] corner. 39 These will serve as tassels for you to look at, so that you may remember all the LORD’s commands and obey them and not become unfaithful by following your own heart and your own eyes. 40 This way you will remember and obey all My commands and be holy to your God. 41 I am the LORD your God who brought you out of the land of Egypt to be your God; I am the LORD your God.”  (HCSB)

The Israelites would probably be constantly aware of the “long, dangly things” too. And that was what God wanted. Only to be more specific, He wanted the tassels to remind them to walk in obedience to God. He wanted them to serve as a constant reminder to not follow their own selfish desires like they were prone to doing. He wanted them to have a more acute sense that God was indeed holy.

I need the same reminders.

     I’m equally prone to be swayed by my own selfish desires.

          I need to be reminded that God is who He says He is.

               I need to be obedient to Him even when I don’t feel like it.

I need some tassels!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

